The research alliance ForDigital ("digitalization: transformation as a social-economical process") is an initiative encouraged by the federal state of Baden-Württemberg to connect researchers from the locations of Karlsruhe and Mannheim. ForDigital has the objective to appreciate mechanisms and consequences of the rapid evolution of information and communication technologies (ICT) on economy, society, and individuals. Based on the findings, ForDigital has the aim to design ICT solutions.


The research alliance has the aim to enable top research in the area of digitalization focused on the connection and advancement of knowledge on technical science (in particular computer science) as well as social science, economics, and science of law by forming a network between researchers across the locations Karlsruhe and Mannheim. In particular, the alliance pursues the following concrete objectives:

  • Joint research and high-quality publications
  • Build and strengthen competencies at both locations
  • Promotion of junior scientists and equal opportunities at both locations
  • Successfull acquistion of external funds

Structure of the Alliance

ForDigital is an open community of researchers in Karlsruhe and Mannheim. Apart from the researchers who did the initial project application, all researchers from the Karlsruhe Institute for Technologie (KIT) and the University of Mannheim as well as the associated research organizations (Forschungszentrum Informatik (FZI), Fraunhofer IOSB, FIZ Karlsruhe, gesis, ZEW and ZI) are cordially invited to submit cross-locational cooperation proposals.

The ForDigital executive committee decides on the funding of the proposed research activities. The executive committee consist equally of representatives of both locations Karlsruhe and Mannheim. It is composed by four alliance speakers (Prof. Heinzl, Prof. Mädche, Prof. Stahl, Prof. Weinhardt) and four representatives of different disciplines (Prof. Bertschek, Prof. Fetzer, Prof. Grunwald, Prof. Zitterbart). The executive committee reports in an annual meeting to the advisory board, which consists of representatives of the MWK, university directorates, managers of the non-university research institutes, and selected representatives from practice.